"Lines on a page, manic scribblings of some nutjob with a pencil..." - Shameland

Bryan Putnam


A New York City and North Carolina -based Writer/ Composer/ Playwright and Performer, and proud member of ASCAP,  Bryan's musical The ToyMaker was developed at the 2012 O'Neill National Music Theater Conference, where Bryan received The Georgia Holof Lyricist Award for his work. Then a move out west to Village Theatre for their festival of New Musicals & The Flagship Ball State Dicovery Festival in 2014.


These past five years Bryan has been working on a series of songs inspired by David Lynch's iconic film, Blue Velvet. 


Trouble in Shameland, Bryan's critically acclaimed musical about art imitating life, premiered in 2004 in Wilmington, NC and immediately found a path to NYC with a reading at the York Theatre and a subsequent production in the 2006 New York International Fringe Festival at the Actor's Playhouse starring Evita's Florence Lacey.


Bryan continues to partner with The Raleigh Symphony Orchestra as a performer, narrator and composer. In tandem keeping a relationship with The O'Neill Theatre Center returning for a writing fellow in April 2016.  Bryan is also working on a new and exciting developmental theatre project in  coastal NC...(more info soon) and a new musical collaboration has begun with Burning Coal Theatre Company in Raleigh, details to follow!

In 2011, The ToyMaker was awarded Best Original Score Award at WVMTF. The ToyMaker also received a critically acclaimed run at The Theatre @ St. Clements as an official selection of the New York Musical Theatre Festival's Next Link Project starring Rosena M. Hill (Ragtime, Spamalot, Come Fly Away, Oklahoma), Rob Richardson (Tale of Two Cities), Greg Stone (The Pirate Queen, Urban Cowboy, Oklahoma! and Les Miserables) and Jessica Burrows (Zhivago). a staged Reading of the aforementioned  The ToyMaker at the York Theatre starring Christiane Noll, Zachary James, Justin Greer and Joan Barber and an amazingly talented cast. Both shows were finalists in the Richard Rodgers Award competition.